Articles on: Backups
This article is also available in:

Schedule recurring backups

To ensure that your websites are safe from any unforeseen event, setting up recurring backups is essential. Follow these steps to set up automatic backups in Modular DS.


1. Access to backup configuration


Backups are set up globally: you define the settings once and apply them to as many websites as you like.


Go to "Backups" from your account overview, open the "Global configurations" tab and click "Create global configuration". If you already have one, you can edit it from the three dots.


Website overview


2. Customization of the backup


Within the configuration, you can adjust the following aspects:


  • Items to Include: choose whether you want to make copies of WordPress and files (themes, plugins, uploads, etc.), the database, or both.


Exclude files backups


  • You also have the option to exclude specific files, folders or tables from the database.


Exclude files backups


  • Recurrence: defines the periodicity of automatic backups. The available options are:
    • Monthly: select the day of the month and the time.
    • Weekly: included in the Freelance plan.
    • Every 24h (daily): included in Starter, Business and Enterprise.


Scheduled recurrence


You can adjust the backup retention policy (length of time backups are kept in the cloud) according to the recurrence you choose, determining how long the copies will be stored in the cloud before they are deleted.


Note: the time zone used corresponds to that of the browser from which you access Modular, eliminating the need to select it manually.


3. Completion and scheduling


Choose which websites to apply the configuration to, or mark it as default so it applies automatically to the new websites you add. Once you have configured the desired settings, you have two options:


  • Save and Schedule: activates the backups with the configured settings. A first instant backup will be performed and the following backups will follow the established schedule.
  • Save: retains the configuration without activating the backups.





Do you need help with anything else? Email us at help@modulards.com or contact us via the support chat, and we'll be happy to help you.

Updated on: 18/08/2026

Was this article helpful?

Share your feedback

Cancel

Thank you!